Thursday, December 27th

by musicclipoftheday


Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750), Partita No. 2 in D minor for solo violin; Bella Hristova (violin)

first four movements, live (studio), Boston, 2012


fifth movement (Chaconne), live, Philadelphia, 2013





WKCR’s Bach Festival (until midnight New Year’s Eve)


musical thoughts

On one stave, for a small instrument, the man writes a whole world of the deepest thoughts and most powerful feelings. If I imagined that I could have created, even conceived the piece, I am quite certain that the excess of excitement and earth-shattering experience would have driven me out of my mind.

—Johannes Brahms (1833-1897), on Bach’s Chaconne, in a letter to Clara Schumann (translated from German)